Kwesi Arthur releases debut album, Son Of Jacob

By  | 

Johannesburg, Monday, 25 April 2022 – Following a slew of acclaimed singles across the past year, fast-rising African superstar, Kwesi Arthur’s, highly anticipated debut album Son Of Jacob is now out via Platoon.

Announcing his presence with a standout feature on one of the most viral global tracks of last year in Yaw Tog’s “Sore” Remix ft. Stormzy, Kwesi Arthur has continued to electrify the African scene. His breakthrough COLORS performance drawing co-signs from US superstar Cardi B and his track “Winning” ft. Vic Mensa rightly labelling him as one of the key new artists coming out of the creative hotspot. 

An innate rap talent that blends seamlessly with an ear for contagious Afropop melodies, Kwesi Arthur delivers an intricately inter-woven project that underlines the rapper’s ability to inject both meaningful social commentary and feel-good energy over a patchwork of sonic textures. A considered array of features from the likes of M Huncho, NSG, Vic Mensa, Joeboy, Team Salut, Teni and Adekunle Gold underline Kwesi Arthur’s truly global presence – from the deeper, more meaningful “Freak” to the refreshing instrumentals of “Celebrate” and euphoric “Mind Over Body”, the album delivers a vivid impression of the origins, growth and ascendency of one of the fastest-growing artists on the African continent right now.  

Speaking on the album’s title, Kwesi Arthur states: “I belong to the Akan meta-ethnicity which consists of a group of people presently settled in parts of Ghana and Ivory Coast in West Africa. We the Akans and other ethnic groups all over Africa, have a peculiar connection with the Israelites in the Bible. We share close cultural practices such as circumcising our male offspring as well as various other rites of passage.”

He adds: “Jacob, according to the Bible, birthed the tribes of Israel – apparently 12 tribes – and although we come from that, I feel like we are the 13th son that the world has ignored for so long. I am the representation of the 13th son, hence the title Son Of Jacob“.

Stream or download Kwesi Arthur’s Son Of Jacob here:


  1. Drama
  2. Disturb
  3. Baajo (ft. Joeboy)
  4. Freak (ft. M Huncho)
  5. Silver Spoon
  6. Paper (ft. Team Salut)
  7. Celebrate (ft. Teni)
  8. Toxic (ft. Adekunle Gold)
  9. Traumatized
  10. Winning (ft. Vic Mensa)
  11. Mind Over Body
  12. Animal
  13. Diamond Dancing (ft. NSG)
  14. No Regrets
  15. Adom

Kwesi Arthur has found his multi-dimensional grasp of genres and ability to transcend worlds quickly translate to sell-out shows in both London and New York, whilst features across the likes of  BILLBOARD continue to place him as one of Ghana’s most important and resonant new voices.

Added to a fashion profile that’s already seen collaborations with the VOGUE-featured Ghanaian label Atto Tetteh, the young artist from Ghana is balancing huge global expectation with the kind of humility and panache that continues to define his legacy, as the young star’s sprawling fanbase (1.4M+ IG) sees Kwesi Arthur marked as one of the brightest talents from the new generation of artists coming out of African continent right now.

Make sure to connect with Kwesi Arthur on social media and stream or download Son Of Jacob today:

Connect with Kwesi Arthur:

Facebook: Kwesi Arthur (

Twitter: @KwesiArthur_

Instagram: @KwesiArthur_