Costume Designers Guild Awards 2022 Winners

By  | 
PHOTO CREDIT: Costume Designers Guild

The 24th Costume Designers Guild Awards celebrated the best costume designs in film, television, and in the media during the year 2021; the award ceremony was held in-person on the 9th of March and was hosted by Andrew Rannells and Casey Wilson. Costume Designers Guild president Salvador Perez discussed the important role that the awards and the guild played during the pandemic, he said, “As a community, we have survived a life-changing pandemic industry and been on the brink of work stoppage.” He called for “pay equity now” and said that “costume designers are historically underpaid for too long. It’s about costume designers in the costume department being valued as a major asset to the industry and compensated accordingly.” Read on for further details on pay equity and for a full list of winners to follow!

Salvador Perez, the Costume Designers Guild president, “noted the Costume designers guild will soon be launching a social media campaign to showcase these underpaid voices”. He has also previously said in the past, “Here’s the issue, costume designers are 85% women. Production designers are 85% men. We are working for hire. They build. We are two department heads doing what I think is an equal job. But because we are mostly women, we are getting paid less and I think that’s something that needs to be addressed as part of this movement.”

Many presenters and winners showed their support by wearing the pay equity now pins and waving flags as they came up on the stage. Speaking of, scroll for the full list of all the winners from Wednesday night here!

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

“Dune” – Jacqueline West & Robert Morgan

Excellence in Contemporary Film

“Coming 2 America” – Ruth E. Carter

Excellence in Period Film

“Cruella “– Jenny Beavan

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

“The Book of Boba Fett” (Chapter 1)– Shawna Trpcic

Excellence in Contemporary Television

“Emily in Paris” (French Revolution) – Patricia Field & Marylin Fitoussi

Excellence in Period Television

“The Great” (Seven Days) – Sharon Long

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

“Saturday Night Live” Rami Malek / Young Thug – Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

Excellence in Short Form Design

Swarovski: “Welcome to Wonderlab” (Commercial) – B. Åkerlund